Wind Waker Champagne Cupcakes – A double celebration.

Today’s post is a very special post! It’s a celebration post for both the release of Hyrule Historia and the announcement of Wind Waker HD on Wii U! Since this is a food blog, I won’t get into the details of what they are, but I feel like some basic knowledge is required to appreciate this post.

Nintendo, one of the biggest gaming company, has a long running video game franchise called The Legend of Zelda, which is what this blog is named after. This franchise has many titles under its name (one of them being The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker), and Nintendo recently released a book (in English) going into details of all the existing games in the franchise. That book is the Hyrule Historia. The Wind Waker, released on the Nintendo Gamecube in 2002/2003 is getting a remake with HD graphics on their newest home console, the Wii U. I was stoked when I heard the news since Wind Waker is on my top 3 favourite Zelda games to date, but whether or not I buy it when it comes out is a story for another time, another place. Back to the main point of this blog!

To celebrate these two special events, I’ve decided to bake champagne cupcakes because champagne is the way to go when you want to celebrate, right? Right? I got this recipe from my favourite YouTube geeky cooking show, Nerdy Nummmies, again. You can find the link to her channel here. This time, however, I’ve came up with my own decorations! Hurray, I actually kind of have talent! Here’s a quick glance at the finished product.

For the champagne, I just went to my local alcohol store, LCBO, and bought the cheapest, sweetest champagne I could find. You want the champagne to be very sweet because the batter of the cupcake is very bland. The flavour of the cupcake will be coming from the champagne mostly (the ones without icing).

Here are the ingredients:
For the cupcake
1/2 cup of butter (soften)
1 cup of sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp of vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups of flour
1/2 tsp of baking soda
1/4 tsp of baking powder
1/4 tsp of salt
1/2 cup of sour cream
1/2 cup of champagne

For the forsting
4 cups of icing sugar
1/2 cup of butter (soften)
1/4 cup of champagne
1 tsp of vanilla extract
Royal blue gel food colouring

For decorations
White fondant
Royal Blue gel food colouring
Orange gel food colouring
Green gel food colouring
I would recommend using gel food colouring instead of the ones you find in grocery stores because those liquid ones will change the consistency of the batter

Here are the tools:(minus the obvious ones)
Rolling pin
Small knife
Pipping bag (or alternative)

For the cupcake:
Step 1: In a large bowl, whisk the butter and sugar until fluffy
Step 2: Add the eggs and vanilla extract. Whish until just blend
Step 3: In another bowl, mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together.
Step 4: In a third bowl, mix sour cream and champagne.
Step 5: Alternating adding the flour mixture and the champagne mixture to the butter mixture starting with the flour mixture. Whisk until it’s mixed very well
Step 6: Line the cupcake baking tray with cupcake baking cups and scoop the batter into the cups. Fill them 2/3 of the way.
Step 7: Preheat the oven to 325°F and bake for 15~20 minutes. Let them cool. (Time varies depending on the oven)

For the frosting:
Step 1: Mix icing sugar, butter and champagne. Mix well.
Step 2: Add a little of the Royal Blue gel food colouring to make the frosting a very light blue.

I wanted the frosting to be blue so that it resembles the the colour of the ocean in Wind Waker. The main method of traveling in Wind Waker is by sailing on this tiny boat, called the King of Red Lion.

Before I get into the steps on the very time consuming decorations, I’d like to go over what exactly they are for those who aren’t familiar with Wind Waker or just the Zelda franchise in general. At the beginning of the game (kind of) in Wind Waker, you were given the task to find 3 Goddess Pearls: Din’s Pearl, Nayru’s Pearl, and Farore’s Pearl. I took the design of the pearls and made a 2D model out of fondant and stick it on top of the frosting!
The three pearls


For the decoration:
Step 1: Find a circular cookie cutter of your choice and measure the diameter of the circle. The one I used was 2inches
Step 2: On photoshop, or whatever program you choose, resize the picture above so they are smaller than the size of your cookie cutter. (Optional: Make them black and white to save ink) Print them out.
Step 3: Carefully cut out the shapes into sections. I left that white triangle alone in Naryu’s design.
Step 4: Take a chunk of white fondant and dye it light blue. Make sure it’s darker, or a different shade from the blue of the frosting.
Step 5: Roll the blue fondant as flat as possible. Then use the cookie cutter to cut out as many Naryu’s Pearl as you need. (If only getting the Goddess Pearls were this easy)
Step 6: Take the blue fondant and add more blue colouring to get a desirable darker shade of blue. Roll it flat.
Step 7: Take the paper cut-out of Naryu’s design and place it on top of the fondant. Carefully trace the design using the tool of your choice. I used a small knife.
Step 8: Roll a thin string using the leftover blue fondant. This will serve as the outline.
Step 9: Dip your finger in water and lightly wet the sides of the base (the light blue circle). Then gently press the string against the side.
Step 10: Lightly wet the surface of the base and place Naryu’s design. Adjust as needed. Let it dry.
Step 11: Repeat steps 4 to 10 for Din (Orange) and Farore (Green).

To assemble the cupcakes, just take a piping bag and fill it with the frosting. Squeeze some onto the cupcake and plop the pearl on top of it! Make sure the fondant pearls are dried before doing so. I was nerdy enough to colour code the cupcake baking cups to the corresponding pearl even though you can’t really tell in the pictures…


Look at my army of Goddess Pearls; Link would be very jealous.

It’s my first time doing anything with fondant. It’s also my first time making cupcake (surprise!). I admit, I did a pretty horrible job at frosting the cupcake. I needed a bigger piping tip, but I made the best of what I had. There are a lot of rough edges, fail piping jobs, and having one of the designs facing the wrong direction… BUT I AM VERY PROUD. I loved the way it turned out! They’re so cute.

Time to wrap every thing up! I find the frosting a bit too sweet; the cupcake without frosting is perfect for my tastebuds. For those who like things a bit sweeter, I’d recommend adding the frosting though. I made fondant pearls for decoration only; I never intended on eating them. I’m not a big fan of how fondant tastes… too sweet. It is edible if you so choose to eat them.

I give this recipe a 9/10 without frosting, or a 8/10 with frosting. It’s a very simple recipe to make, and it’s awfully delicious (hurray for oxymoron)! I had so much fun making this even though it took around 12 hours for this project. Now I get to treat myself to delicious cupcakes. :D

Until next time!
Daniel

Leave a Reply

