Poké Ball Cookies – Gotta Eat ‘em All

Last week, while I was recovering from getting my wisdom teeth pulled out, I couldn’t eat any delicious food. And since consuming delicacies using my mouth was not an option, I rely on the next best thing… my eyes! Because looking at food totally fills your stomach and not the opposite. I stared at mouth watering pictures (no, don’t go there) of food all day long. More importantly, I’ve watched the YouTube geeky cooking show, Nerdy Nummies, over and over again.

Nerdy Nummies is a weekly show on YouTube where the hostess, Rosanna Pansino, make something nerdy and yummy (as the name suggests). To find more information, please click on the links: YouTube, Twitter, Facebook.

Getting back to the topic, I’ve been trying to get back into baking cookies (I usually bake cakes, not cookies), so over the weekend, I’ve decided to make some Poké Ball sugar cookies that I saw on the show. I basically recreated what she did, except my cookies were not as pretty. You can find the link to the video here.

Here are the ingredients:
2 1/2 cups of flour
1/4 tsp of baking soda
1/4 tsp of salt
1 cup of butter (soften)
1 1/4 cup of powdered sugar/icing sugar/confectioner’s sugar
1/4 cup + 2 tbsp of sugar
1 egg (preferably large)
3/4 tsp of vanilla extract
egg white wash (1 egg white + 2 tbsp of water)

Here are the tools: (minus the obvious ones)
Red food dye (gel)
Circular cookie cutter
Black Frosting
Small white candies. (Like rockets, or as the US calls them, smarties)

Step 1: Combine the flour, baking soda and salt.
Step 2: In another bowl, using a beater, whisk (or any weapon of your choice), mix together the soften butter, powdered sugar, and the sugar until the mixture is creamy. Then add the egg and the vanilla extract. Mix until just blend.
Step 3: Slowly and gradually add the flour to the creamy mixture while mixing until it forms a dough.
Step 4: Take the dough and split it in two and dye half of it red with the red food dye.
Step 5: Refrigerate both doughs (in saran wrap) until it is firm and shapable. It took me around 1.5 hours with my fridge.
Step 6: Take the doughs and roll them into cylinders. Then put them in the freezer until they are hard, but still able to be cut. With my freezer, it took around 50 minutes.
Step 7: Slice both cylinders down the middle vertically. Now you should have 4 frozen semicircular prism (shapes!) dough, two white and two red.
Step 8: Take one white and one red, and using the egg white wash and “glue” the flat sides together. Then put them back into the freezer until they stick together.
Step 9: Slice the dough stick into your desirable thickness. Take the circular cookie cutter and cut the circles to get the colour scheme of a Poké Ball

Step 10: Bake in the oven at 375°F for 9 minutes (with the thickness shown above). Let them cool (at least 5 minutes).
Step 11: Take the black frosting and draw a line across where the colours divides. Then draw a small circle right in the centre.

Step 12: Take the small white candies and stick it right where you drew the small circle with the black frosting. Make sure there’s a black frosting outline of the circle still showing.

And then you’ll have your own Poké Ball cookies! I opted the last step out because it tastes better without the candy, but it looks less like a Poké Ball! I put them in plastic bags and tied it up with ribbons. Simple things. I chose red and white ribbons because that’s the colour of Poké Balls.

Yea, I know, my cookies don’t look very round, and there are a lot of mess up here and there, but I think it’s a good step to take back into the cookie world. It’s also one of the very few times I’ve decorated anything. The sugar cookies were delicious; it’s not overly sweet. The decorations were simple and easy enough to follow along… I just suck. That being said, I still had a lot of fun baking this batch of cookies. I give this a 9/10. Please do remember that this rating is under the “Homemade” standard.

Until next time,
Daniel

Leave a Reply

